RSS Feed

FOLLOW THE YELLOW BRICK ROAD

Sometimes, you get a sign from above that can’t be ignored. Of course, you need to understand it’s a sign. You might have to get whacked over the head if you’re not one who easily recognizes subtleties. But at some point, once the massive headache has subsided, you realize that you have strayed off-course and somehow need to find your way back to the path that will take you to the magical land of Oz.

Let’s start with how I’ve gone astray. I blame it mostly on the luck of the draw. In the past 12 years, I’ve had two surgeries that basically changed my genetic make-up from a person with a healthy weight and healthy lifestyle, to a shrieking, angry person who does battle with the scale and the mirror each day, trying to figure out what the heck happened to my once-decent body.

These body mutations now include high blood pressure, high cholesterol and high weight numbers. And the doctors keep telling me it’s normal aging. Uh, no, I beg to differ. I exercise, never eat anything even slightly enjoyable, largely thanks to the fact that I can no longer tolerate gluten – no bread, no pasta, no cookies, no cake, essentially leaving me two options: cardboard and birdseed.

image.scaleAnd now, the dirty admission. In spite of what all the experts suggest, I am fanatical about weighing myself each morning. On two scales. First, on the newer, digital scale. Once I am suitably mortified by that scale’s horrific news, I lurch over to my old, non-digital scale, hoping for a different result. Which pretty much never ever happens. The keening and wailing begin as I digest the reality that these numbers are not going to change for the better. But I can’t help myself. Because every once in awhile, the number actually goes down. Like when I have the stomach flu. Or food poisoning. That lasts for days and days on end.

Anyway, then came this morning. First, I weighed myself on the digital. The number had jumped by 3 pounds from 3 days ago. Of course it did. For absolutely no reason. This is the punishment I get for even hoping it might have gone down since all I ate yesterday was an orange, some lettuce and, as I said, birdseed. Then, I went onto my old, non-digital scale. I heard it groan. Then I heard a thud. When I looked down, it had died. Seriously. It just couldn’t take it anymore. And so, it’s gone.

I know scales aren’t supposed to die. It has to be a sign. I need to try once again to change my ways. To find my way back to the decent, much healthier body I had 12 years ago. But, how to make this slamming on my head stop, and how to find my way back to the Yellow Brick Road, and – oops, not Oz. Not exactly. Why didn’t I realize it before? All I need to do is look at the man behind the curtain on TV. The man who has all the answers. Just find me a pair of ruby slippers, and I’ll skip down the Yellow Brick Road as fast as I can! Straight to Dr. Oz!

Copyright Nancy Machlis Rechtman, all rights reserved

5 responses »

  1. love this. thank you Nancy

    Reply
  2. To support the theory, once again, that humor springs from pathos … we have this wonderful post. Reading it the reader sees that humor, when grounded in truth, always wins. I’m so happy to reconnect with you, Nancy. Are you in touch with any others from PA? How about the unofficial leader (by his own proclamation, I’m sure) whose name evades me, but whose bio pic was of himself caught in mid-jump with the ocean as backdrop. Anyway, Nancy, let’s keep in touch.

    Reply
    • Jay, or, to put it another way, if you don’t laugh, you might just cry! Thanks for reading and the kind comment!

      Reply
    • Sorry, Jay, I missed the rest of your comment initially. To answer your questions, no, I haven’t been in touch with any others from PA for years. Funny, I only remember a few names as well, but yours jumped at me when I saw you on Twitter! Hope all is going well with you – always enjoy reading your posts and your tweets!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

